springkerb at aol.com springkerb at aol.com
Fri Dec 21 07:52:24 EST 2018

This shortened version is a lame-ass scheme to keep me from repeating!  I blame Robbins.
But you won't stop me, when I walk out of the Rose Bowl with Gigi (yeah, we're going), I expect to be right back on top.


-----Original Message-----
From: Andy Klein <anrklein at gmail.com>
To: Peter Klein <peteriklein at gmail.com>; Kevin Coyle <kjcoyle22 at comcast.net>; Artessy at aol.com <artessy at aol.com>; robert Schussel <rschussel at outlook.com>; richard rosenthal <richromd at bellsouth.net>; Ezra Blocker <packerguy926 at gmail.com>; Bob Easton <eastonre at gmail.com>; Walthall, Howard <hpwaltha at samford.edu>; Rick Gammons <ricklgammons at gmail.com>; Timothy Klein <timkccb at gmail.com>; Jason Klein <jasonk722 at gmail.com>; Jeff Grove <jgrove at iupui.edu>; Jim Weil <wimmyjeiljr at aol.com>; John Fruit <jtfruit at msn.com>; Mark Winick <mrwinick at gmail.com>; Ben Winick <benwinick at aol.com>; Sam Winick <samwinick at aol.com>; Jeff Winick <jhwinick at aol.com>; Mark Blocker <blockermark at gmail.com>; Jeff Cohen <jcohen1258 at aol.com>; Fisk, Rosemary <rmfisk at samford.edu>; Mark Kerber <springkerb at aol.com>; philhkamp <philhkamp at yahoo.com>; pool2k01 <pool2k01 at football.cbssports.com>; USML Announcements <announce at usml.net>; Motto <motto5 at embarqmail.com>
Cc: Andrew Klein <anrklein at outlook.com>
Sent: Fri, Dec 21, 2018 5:15 am

The 24rd Annual College Bowl Pool With apologies for a slow start, greetings and welcome tothe College Bowl Pool’s 24th Year!  Dueto the Commissioner’s travels, we’ll start a bit later this year, beginningwith the Independence Bowl on December 27. Once again, we will include the National Champion Game.  That means entering one of four teams as atitle game winner (Alabama, Clemson, Oklahoma, or Notre Dame) and assigningpoints according to your own tolerance for risk.  We have less than a week until the gamesbegin, so make your picks promptly!Here’s a reminder on how things work …THE RULESThis is a confidence pool. Pick the winners of each bowl game and weight your confidenceaccordingly (i.e., 23 on the game in which you have the most confidence down to1 on the game in which you have the least confidence).  All entries must be submitted toanrklein at gmail.com BEFORE KICKOFF OF THE INDEPENDENCE BOWL ON DECEMBER 27.   Please put the words “Bowl Pool” in thesubject line of your message.  And, ifpossible, submit picks in the order of the games, rather than re-arrangingthe list in confidence order.  This helpsme expedite entering selections into Brother Pete’s spreadsheet.  One other note:  Don’t pick in order (e.g., chronologicallyfrom 1-23 or 23-1.)  That is not in thespirit of the game!  THE PARTICIPANTSI am sending this message to players from previous years andother potentially interested people (or at least those for whom I have ane-mail address).  Please feel free toforward the message to others who might want to play.THE STAKESThe pool is for pride and charity.  NFL Pool players already have “paid” througha gift to the Devin Shafron Memorial Fund, which is now managed by the ChicagoCommunity Trust.  (And if you haven’tpaid, this is an excellent time to send your check.)  The Fund is a foundation established byPhyllis Shafron in memory of her son, and our friend, Devin.  Its historical purpose has been to providenew books for Chicago public school libraries; more recently it has expanded tosupport a variety of other youth-related causes in the Chicago area.  The foundation has raised tens of thousandsof dollars and donated to dozens of organizations in Devin’s memory.  There are several schools that have plaquesin honor of The Pool’s contribution.  Ifanyone would like more information about the foundation, or how to make a smallcontribution as a “fee” for the pool, let me know. PREVIOUS CHAMPIONS1995-1996:  Historicaldata lost in the Great Klein Computer Crash of '971997:  Mark Winick1998:  Michelle DiOrio1999:  Rick Gammons2000:  Jeff Cohen2001:  Jim DiOrio2002:  Andy Klein2003:  Pete Klein2004:  Jeff Winick2005:  Pete Klein2006: Andy Klein2007:  Bill Jones2008:  Bob Schussel2009:  Jason Klein2010:  Sam Winick2011:  Mark Winick2012:  Dan Cole2013:  Jim Weil2014:  Ezra Blocker2015:  Tim Klein2016:     Sam Winick2017:     MarkKerber/Tim Klein/Jim WeilTHE GAMESIndependence Bowl (Dec. 27): Temple vs. DukePinstripe Bowl (Dec. 27): Miami vs. WisconsinTexas Bowl (Dec. 27): Baylor vs. VanderbiltMusic City Bowl (Dec. 28): Purdue vs. AuburnCamping World Bowl (Dec. 28): West Virginia vs. SyracuseAlamo Bowl (Dec. 28): Iowa State vs. Washington State Peach Bowl (Dec. 29): No. 10 Florida vs. No. 7 MichiganBelk Bowl (Dec. 29): South Carolina vs. VirginiaArizona Bowl (Dec. 29): Arkansas State vs. NevadaCotton Bowl (Dec. 29): No. 2 Clemson vs. No. 3 Notre DameOrange Bowl (Dec. 29): No. 1 Alabama vs. No. 4 OklahomaMilitary Bowl (Dec. 31): Cincinnati vs. Virginia TechSun Bowl (Dec. 31): Stanford vs. PittsburghRedbox Bowl (Dec. 31): Michigan State vs. OregonLiberty Bowl (Dec. 31): Missouri vs. Oklahoma StateHoliday Bowl (Dec. 31): Northwestern vs. UtahGator Bowl (Dec. 31): NC State vs. Texas A&MOutback Bowl (Jan. 1): Mississippi State vs. IowaCitrus Bowl (Jan. 1): Kentucky vs. Penn StateFiesta Bowl (Jan. 1): No. 11 LSU vs. No. 8 UCFRose Bowl (Jan. 1): No. 9 Washington vs. No. 6 Ohio StateSugar Bowl (Jan. 1): No. 15 Texas vs. No. 5 GeorgiaNational Championship (Jan: 7):  Cotton Bowl Winner v. Orange Bowl Winner
-------------- next part --------------
An HTML attachment was scrubbed...
URL: <http://usml.net/pipermail/announce_usml.net/attachments/20181221/d30784a4/attachment-0001.html>

More information about the Announce mailing list